Ann Sea goes back to back

Tuesday 13 March 2012

Ann Sea goes back to back

Six yachts came to the start for the final race of the Poseidon Sailaway Club Championship Summer Series under heavy skies and the threat of rain.

Defending Club Champion Port FM Mais Oui made a welcome return in her first race of the year under the new captaincy of Mike Garrett and was immediately into the action following a great start.

Magic rounded the top mark first ahead of Ann Sea but the decision to fly the spinnaker with a less experienced crew and a freshening breeze on the downwind run proved costly.

Ann Sea took the lead and held on to take line honours in 01:07:38 two minutes ahead of Magic.

Need an employee or looking for a job. See our Employment page. 

Third place chopped and changed hands as a classic test of strategy and gamesmanship was played out between Ice and Port FM Mais Oui with Miriama close behind and Tau Ceti forced to retire with a damaged headsail.

Corrected times kept Ann Sea on top with Magic 2nd and Ice 3rd ahead of Port FM Mais Oui and Miriama.

The win sealed the overall Summer Series victory for Ann Sea (9) ahead of Magic (13) and Tau Ceti (16) for skipper Tim Preuss to record his second successive win of the Summer Series trophy.

The Poseidon Sailaway Club Championship resumes in June with the eight race Winter Series.

In the meantime the Closehaven Marina Trophy Series kicks off with the Closehaven Cup on March 31 and the Keith Quinn Memorial Trophy on April 21 followed by the clubs flagship event the Exemplar Clipper Cup in May. 

Editor's Comments: Thanks to Mick for his outstanding reports each week keeping us up to speed with the Summer Series, he has been a valuable member of our team since the Sport page started almost a year ago. We look forward to hearing more from Mick and the Yacht Club in the coming weeks.